Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page | Register | Log in
Welcome Guest | Monday, December 10, 2018 04:40 PM EST
Guest


Guest
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Author Message
cdy291
Post subject: Garmin 510 troubles  PostPosted: Dec 11, 2017 - 10:08 PM
Distance Rider
Distance Rider


Joined: Apr 09, 2007
Posts: 366
Location: Dallas, GA
I have a Garmin 510 that is bricked. I need the system files from the garmin folder to put back on mine to try and make it work. I was wondering if someone had a 510 if the could get me the files I need copied off theres and somehow send them to me.
 
 View user's profile Send private message 
Reply with quote Back to top
webgeek
Post subject: RE: Garmin 510 troubles  PostPosted: Dec 11, 2017 - 10:16 PM
Ultra Distance
Ultra Distance


Joined: Feb 02, 2005
Posts: 9194
Location: Powder Springs
Guess you tried the factory reset?
Looks like you aren't alone in this adventure.
This might help:
https://github.com/trackies/garmin-restore/blob/master/edge-510/RESTORE.md

_________________
-- wg "Chris" Google voice: 678-348-0514
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/atlbiker
 
 View user's profile Send private message 
Reply with quote Back to top
TimH
Post subject: RE: Garmin 510 troubles  PostPosted: Dec 11, 2017 - 10:24 PM
Ultra Distance
Ultra Distance


Joined: Feb 11, 2007
Posts: 1147
Location: Acworth
I think the files are at

http://www.fesports.com.au/download/Edge510.zip


-Tim-

_________________
http://atlantabikerides.blogspot.com/
G = (6.67428۪ ± 0.00067)(10^-11)(m^3)( kg^-1)(s^-2)
 
 View user's profile Send private message 
Reply with quote Back to top
cdy291
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 11, 2017 - 11:55 PM
Distance Rider
Distance Rider


Joined: Apr 09, 2007
Posts: 366
Location: Dallas, GA
I got it loaded with the files and it still won't get past the "loading profiles" screen. I have reformatted it several times. But I already got a new 520 I just wish I could get this to work again.
 
 View user's profile Send private message 
Reply with quote Back to top
TimH
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 11, 2017 - 11:58 PM
Ultra Distance
Ultra Distance


Joined: Feb 11, 2007
Posts: 1147
Location: Acworth
Maybe post in the electronics forum at bikeforums.net

_________________
http://atlantabikerides.blogspot.com/
G = (6.67428۪ ± 0.00067)(10^-11)(m^3)( kg^-1)(s^-2)
 
 View user's profile Send private message 
Reply with quote Back to top
cdy291
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 12, 2017 - 12:18 AM
Distance Rider
Distance Rider


Joined: Apr 09, 2007
Posts: 366
Location: Dallas, GA
I just called garmin. They will send me out a replacement for $99. They don't have any 510s so they are sending an 810. I will likely just sell it.
 
 View user's profile Send private message 
Reply with quote Back to top
forrest
Post subject:   PostPosted: Dec 12, 2017 - 01:48 AM
Ultra Distance
Ultra Distance


Joined: May 10, 2010
Posts: 1515
Location: Ganymede
Could be bad flash ROM. I had some weird issues with my 500 every now and then. Data corruption happens a lot with flash, and designers have to be proactive to keep it in check.

I kind of doubt that Garmin did any sort of wear leveling on the older units or checksum checking or atomic operations or anything like that.

The "wear parts" on one of these GPSes are pretty much just the battery and flash memory.

_________________
P.S. 4-29-2017!!!!
FTS vs BJP @ Walker, Floyd, Chattooga
 
 View user's profile Send private message 
Reply with quote Back to top
Display posts from previous:     
Jump to:  
All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Post new topic   Reply to topic
View previous topic Printable version Log in to check your private messages View next topic
Powered by PNphpBB2 © 2003-2007 The PNphpBB Group
Credits
Designed by atlbike.org
©2004-2018 Atlbike Trail Foundation
results
z-cal

[ Today's Zwift Events ]

Monday, December 10, 2018 04:40 PM EST
Course changeover occurs at 21:00 (PST) or UTC-8 hrs, Midnight (EST).
Page created in 0.077652 Seconds